The Club

Scarborough Yacht Club is situated in the Lighthouse building at the end of the central pier of Scarborough harbour.

The Club has enviable views across the harbour and South bay, especially from the balcony where you can take in all the activities both on and off the water. You are assured of a friendly welcome at the bar with food being served on weekend lunch openings.


Quiet Room & Library

The downstairs room has been decorated and made into a "Quiet Room". The computer is available for use there and all the books which have been donated to the club over the years are now stored on the shelving there.

If any member needs to to take a book home to read, please return it as soon as possible so that everyone can make use of this facility.

Also if any member has any books which they wish to donate, please write inside the front cover of the book donated a name and a date, which adds interest for future members.

Flag Officers & Committees 2016

Flag Officers:

    • Commodore - Steve Parker (below left)
    • Vice Commodore - Roger Buxton (below right)


  • Rear Commodore - Paul Lester (below left)
  • Hon. Commodore - Geoffrey Hill (below right)


  • Hon Secretary - Clive Murray (below left)
  • Hon Treasurer - Tom Hill (below centre)
  • Hon Handicapper - Richard Craven (below right)



  • Geoffrey Hill, Robin Scholes, David Poole & Steve Russell


Management Committee:

  • All Flag Officers, All Trustees, Hon Secretary , Hon Treasurer, Hon Handicapper, Martin Gledhill, Emma Nutt, Pete McIntyre, Nick Taylor, Heath Samples & Martin Donnely


House & Social Committee:

  •  Rear Commodore, Phil Van Zwanenberg & David Horsley


Sailing Committee:

  • Vice Commodore, Hon Handicapper, Andy Volans, Edd Peacock, Bruce Temple, Steve Russell, Martin Donnely,  Martin Gledhill & Sam Usher